[Blackstudies-l] Fwd: H-Afro-Am: Recent News Items of Interest to H-Afro-Am

Emilye Crosby crosby at geneseo.edu
Thu Dec 1 11:39:59 EST 2016


Begin forwarded message:
> 
> From: H-Net Notifications <drupaladmin at mail.h-net.msu.edu>
> Subject: H-Afro-Am: Recent News Items of Interest to H-Afro-Am
> Date: December 1, 2016 at 11:37:17 AM EST
> To: "crosby at geneseo.edu" <crosby at geneseo.edu>
> 
> H-Net <https://networks.h-net.org/>
> Greetings Emilye Crosby,
> A new item has been posted in H-Afro-Am.
> 
> Recent News Items of Interest to H-Afro-Am <https://networks.h-net.org/node/2606/discussions/155089/recent-news-items-interest-h-afro-am>
> by Shawn Leigh Alexander
> Recent News Items of Interest to H-Afro-Am
> To so many Africans, Fidel Castro is a hero. Here’s why » <https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2016/nov/30/africa-fidel-castro-nelson-mandela-cuba>
> An American Redemption? » <http://www.vox.com/the-big-idea/2016/11/28/13758392/second-american-redemption-trumpism>
> The Sundown Town Vote in Wisconsin: Race-ing the Trump Victory <http://www.counterpunch.org/2016/11/29/the-sundown-town-vote-in-wisconsin-race-ing-the-trump-victory/> »
> Trump’s America Was Never A Democracy » <http://www.aaihs.org/trumps-america-was-never-a-democracy/>
> Keep Hope Alive » <http://www.slate.com/articles/news_and_politics/cover_story/2016/11/jesse_jackson_s_presidential_campaigns_offer_a_road_map_for_democrats_in.html>
> Where Has All The Loving Gone? A Review Of The New Film, ‘Loving’​ » <http://www.aaihs.org/where-has-all-the-loving-gone-a-review-of-the-new-loving-film/?utm_content=buffer49f51&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer>
> A Tribute To Gloria Naylor: Teacher Of Black Feminism <http://www.aaihs.org/a-tribute-to-gloria-naylor-teacher-of-black-feminism/> »
> The Distinction Between Slavery And Race In U.S. History <http://www.aaihs.org/the-distinction-between-slavery-and-race-in-u-s-history/?utm_content=buffer74554&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer> »
> The Tragic, Forgotten History of Black Military Veterans » <http://www.newyorker.com/news/news-desk/the-tragic-forgotten-history-of-black-military-veterans>
> Black America and the Passing of Fidel Castro » <http://www.alternet.org/human-rights/black-america-and-passing-fidel-castro#.WDnhZr5jfSY.twitter>
> Fidel Castro's anti-colonialist legacy » <http://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/opinion/2014/03/fidel-castro-anti-colonialist-legacy-201433103015396232.html>
> White-Collar Supremacy » <http://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/25/opinion/white-collar-supremacy.html?smprod=nytcore-ipad&smid=nytcore-ipad-share>
> Why Kara Walker's incendiary slavery art is as relevant as ever​ » <https://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2016/nov/22/kara-walker-ecstasy-st-kara-cleveland-museum-of-art?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other>
> A Time Of Monsters: Corporate Liberalism And The Rise Of Trumpism » <http://www.aaihs.org/a-time-of-monsters-corporate-liberalism-and-the-rise-of-trumpism/>
> Everybody Hates Cornel West » <https://www.jacobinmag.com/2016/11/everybody-hates-cornel-west/>
> What Is Faculty Diversity Worth to a University? » <http://www.theatlantic.com/education/archive/2016/11/what-is-faculty-diversity-worth-to-a-university/508334/?utm_source=feed>
> The Night The Moonlight Caught My Eye » <https://medium.com/reclaiming-anger/moonlight-c5c88a3908db#.9to8mbfw9>
> The Preservation of the White Race » <http://bostonreview.net/forum/after-trump/christopher-petrella-preservation-white-race?utm_content=buffer51a0a&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer>
> What about the black working class? » <http://money.cnn.com/2016/11/23/news/economy/black-working-class-trump/index.html>
> It Feels like the Fall of Reconstruction » <http://www.huffingtonpost.com/manisha-sinha/it-feels-like-the-fall-of_b_12947676.html>
> Sweeping New Rutgers Report Reveals University's Ties to Slavery & Displacement of Native Americans » <https://www.democracynow.org/2016/11/22/sweeping_new_rutgers_report_reveals_universitys>
> Man's Best Friend » <http://www.historytoday.com/tyler-d-parry/man%E2%80%99s-best-fiend>
> Read more or reply <https://networks.h-net.org/node/2606/discussions/155089/recent-news-items-interest-h-afro-am>
> You can manage your notification settings at https://networks.h-net.org/user/5083/notifications <https://networks.h-net.org/user/5083/notifications>
> H-Net on: Facebook <https://www.facebook.com/humanities.socialsciences.online> - Twitter <https://twitter.com/HNet_Humanities>
> Please help us keep H-Net free and accessible. $5 from each of our subscribers would fund H-Net for two years. Click here <https://www.h-net.org/donations/> to make a tax-deductible donation online.
> 
> If you need assistance, please visit the Help Desk <https://networks.h-net.org/help-desk>. H-Net on Facebook <https://www.facebook.com/humanities.socialsciences.online>
> H-Net on Twitter <https://twitter.com/HNet_Humanities>
> H-Net Reviews on Twitter <https://twitter.com/hnet_reviews>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mail.geneseo.edu/pipermail/blackstudies-l/attachments/20161201/7c3401b4/attachment-0001.html>


More information about the Blackstudies-l mailing list