[Blackstudies-l] Fwd: H-Afro-Am: Recent News Items of Interest to H-AfroAm

Emilye Crosby crosby at geneseo.edu
Wed Feb 1 08:46:04 EST 2017


Begin forwarded message:
> Recent News Items of Interest to H-AfroAm <https://networks.h-net.org/node/2606/discussions/164415/recent-news-items-interest-h-afroam>
> by Shawn Leigh Alexander
> Recent News Items of Interest to H-AfroAm
> Race, History, and the #ScienceMarch » <http://www.aaihs.org/race-history-and-the-sciencemarch/>
> New Website Chronicle’s Columbia University’s Ties to Slavery » <https://www.jbhe.com/2017/01/new-website-chronicles-columbia-universitys-ties-to-slavery/>
> Donald Trump’s Old Deal for Black America » <http://www.aaihs.org/donald-trumps-old-deal-for-black-america/>
> “Class Struggle Pan-Africanism”: C.L.R. James in Imperial Britain » <http://www.aaihs.org/class-struggle-pan-africanism-c-l-r-james-in-imperial-britain/>
> Black-Owned Bookstores: Anchors of the Black Power Movement » <http://www.aaihs.org/black-owned-bookstores-anchors-of-the-black-power-movement/>
> When racism drove the AFL All-Star out of New Orleans » <http://theundefeated.com/features/when-racism-drove-the-afl-all-star-game-out-of-new-orleans/>
> August Wilson and the long awaited triumph of “Fences” » <http://www.salon.com/2017/01/28/august-wilson-and-the-long-awaited-triumph-of-fences/>
> It’s the Poverty, Stupid, Not Trump’s Imagined Carnage » <http://prospect.org/article/it%E2%80%99s-poverty-stupid-not-trump%E2%80%99s-imagined-carnage>
> Love and Black Lives, in Pictures Found on a Brooklyn Street » <https://www.nytimes.com/2017/01/27/nyregion/love-and-black-lives-in-pictures-found-on-a-brooklyn-street.html?&hp&action=click&pgtype=Homepage&clickSource=story-heading&module=second-column-region%C2%AEion=top-news&WT.nav=top-news&_r=1>
> How Author Timothy Tyson Found the Women at the Center of the Emmett Till Case » <http://www.vanityfair.com/news/2017/01/how-author-timothy-tyson-found-the-woman-at-the-center-of-the-emmett-till-case>
> John Edgar Wideman Against the World  <https://mobile.nytimes.com/2017/01/26/magazine/john-edgar-wideman-against-the-world.html?_r=0&referer=> This Map Shows Over a Century of Documented Lynchings in the United States » <http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/map-shows-over-a-century-of-documented-lynchings-in-united-states-180961877/?utm_source=twitter.com&utm_medium=socialmedia>
> A Letter to Black Greeks Who Happen to be Black and Queer » <https://medium.com/reclaiming-anger/a-letter-to-black-greeks-who-happen-to-be-black-and-queer-e1211e295afb#.v5yssvpao>
> Racial Progress Is Real. But So Is Racist Progress » <https://www.nytimes.com/2017/01/21/opinion/sunday/racial-progress-is-real-but-so-is-racist-progress.html?smprod=nytcore-ipad&smid=nytcore-ipad-share>
> Lest We Forget The Big Lie Behind the Rise of Trump » <https://vimeo.com/200426901>
> 12 Alabama legislative districts ruled unconstitutional » <http://www.montgomeryadvertiser.com/story/news/politics/southunionstreet/2017/01/20/12-alabama-legislative-districts-ruled-unconstitutional/96830710/>
> Fla. High School Students Protest to Make African-American History a Full-Year Course » <http://www.theroot.com/fla-high-school-students-protest-to-make-african-ameri-1791134333?utm_medium=sharefromsite&utm_source=The_Root_twitter>
> Independence Day Manifesto » <http://www.aaihs.org/independence-day-manifesto/>
> Understanding Jim Brown’s Ugly Support of Donald Trump » <https://www.thenation.com/article/understanding-jim-browns-ugly-support-of-donald-trump/>
> False Choices: Identity Politics and Lessons from the Left » <http://www.aaihs.org/false-choices-identity-politics-and-lessons-from-the-left/>
> Michael Eric Dyson Wants White People to Step Up and Actually Do Something About Racism » <http://www.motherjones.com/media/2017/01/michael-eric-dyson-tears-we-cannot-stop-race-relations-trump>
> Black Queer Writers and the Transformative Possibilities of Queer Sensuality » <http://www.aaihs.org/black-queer-writers-and-the-transformative-possibilities-of-queer-sensuality/>
> Transcending Time: Centering Literature at Festac 77 » <http://www.aaihs.org/transcending-time-centering-literature-at-festac-77/>
> Black Lives Matter: birth of a movement » <https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2017/jan/17/black-lives-matter-birth-of-a-movement>
> Being a black man in white America: a burden even Obama couldn't escape » <https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2017/jan/17/obama-legacy-black-masculinity-white-america>
> Reagan Used MLK Day to Undermine Racial Justice » <http://bostonreview.net/race-politics/justin-gomer-christopher-petrella-reagan-used-mlk-day-undermine-racial-justice>
> Let's not forget - Martin Luther King Jr was preaching economic justice too » <https://theundefeated.com/features/lets-not-forget-martin-luther-king-jr-was-preaching-economic-justice-too/>
> How Black America Saw Obama » <https://www.nytimes.com/2017/01/14/opinion/sunday/how-black-america-saw-obama.html?smprod=nytcore-ipad&smid=nytcore-ipad-share>
> No Racial Barrier Left to Break (Except All of Them) » <https://www.nytimes.com/2017/01/14/opinion/sunday/president-obama-martin-luther-king-racial-barrier.html?smprod=nytcore-ipad&smid=nytcore-ipad-share>
> Read more or reply <https://networks.h-net.org/node/2606/discussions/164415/recent-news-items-interest-h-afroam>
> You can manage your notification settings at https://networks.h-net.org/user/5083/notifications <https://networks.h-net.org/user/5083/notifications>
> H-Net on: Facebook <https://www.facebook.com/humanities.socialsciences.online> - Twitter <https://twitter.com/HNet_Humanities>
> Please help us keep H-Net free and accessible. $5 from each of our subscribers would fund H-Net for two years. Click here <https://www.h-net.org/donations/> to make a tax-deductible donation online.
> 
> If you need assistance, please visit the Help Desk <https://networks.h-net.org/help-desk>. H-Net on Facebook <https://www.facebook.com/humanities.socialsciences.online>
> H-Net on Twitter <https://twitter.com/HNet_Humanities>
> H-Net Reviews on Twitter <https://twitter.com/hnet_reviews>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mail.geneseo.edu/pipermail/blackstudies-l/attachments/20170201/3c08db91/attachment-0001.html>


More information about the Blackstudies-l mailing list