[Blackstudies-l] Fwd: H-Afro-Am: News Items of Interest to H-AfroAm

Emilye Crosby crosby at geneseo.edu
Wed Mar 29 12:25:41 EDT 2017


> Begin forwarded message:
> 
> From: H-Net Notifications <drupaladmin at mail.h-net.msu.edu>
> Subject: H-Afro-Am: News Items of Interest to H-AfroAm
> Date: March 27, 2017 at 10:20:52 PM EDT
> To: "crosby at geneseo.edu" <crosby at geneseo.edu>
> 
> H-Net <https://networks.h-net.org/>
> Greetings Emilye Crosby,
> A new item has been posted in H-Afro-Am.
> 
> News Items of Interest to H-AfroAm <https://networks.h-net.org/node/2606/discussions/173328/news-items-interest-h-afroam>
> by Shawn Leigh Alexander
> News Items of Interest to H-AfroAm 
> 
> Roger Wilkins, Champion of Civil Rights, Dies at 85 <https://mobile.nytimes.com/2017/03/27/us/roger-wilkins-died-civil-rights-advocate.html?referer=>
> Social Death and Insurgent Discourses in Jordan Peele’s “Get Out" <http://www.aaihs.org/social-death-and-insurgent-discourses-in-jordan-peeles-get-out/>
> Totalitarianism, At Home and Abroad: Vaughn Rasberry’s “Race and the Totalitarian Century” <https://lareviewofbooks.org/article/totalitarianism-at-home-and-abroad-vaughn-rasberrys-race-and-the-totalitarian-century/>
> The Prehistory of the Muslim Ban <http://http//www.publicbooks.org/the-prehistory-of-the-muslim-ban/?utm_content=buffer1cc11&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer>
> Call white supremacist violence by its name: Terrorism <http://www.cnn.com/2017/03/26/opinions/white-supremacy-is-terrorism-ifill-opinion/>
> Claude McKay's Long-Lost Novel Brings the Harlem Renaissance to Life <http://www.villagevoice.com/arts/claude-mckays-long-lost-novel-brings-the-harlem-renaissance-to-life-9791773>
> Tracing His Roots, Georgetown Employee Learns University Sold His Ancestor <https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/24/us/a-georgetown-employee-slavery.html?smprod=nytcore-ipad&smid=nytcore-ipad-share&_r=0>
> Derek Walcott’s elegy for America <https://theundefeated.com/features/derek-walcott/>
> Wisconsin Badgers are both a basketball team and a social justice incubator <https://theundefeated.com/features/wisconsin-badgers-nigel-hayes-social-justice/>
> Black Women Communists and Pan-Africanism <http://www.aaihs.org/black-women-communists-and-pan-africanism-an-interview-with-minkah-makalani/>
> Race and Civil Rights Dramas in Hollywood <http://www.aaihs.org/race-and-civil-rights-dramas-in-hollywood/>
> Howard University and the Dream Sequence <http://www.aaihs.org/howard-university-and-the-dream-sequence/>
> The Case Against Dana Schutz <https://newrepublic.com/article/141506/case-dana-schutz?utm_content=bufferf2c90&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer>
> “An Outrage”: A New Film about Lynching in the American South <http://www.aaihs.org/an-outrage-a-new-film-about-lynching-in-the-american-south/>
> Expanding the Slaveocracy <https://www.jacobinmag.com/2017/03/slavery-civil-war-us-south-dubois-foner-karp/>
> Opening the Racist Closets of History: Seven Well-Meaning Americans <http://www.aaihs.org/opening-the-racist-closets-of-history-seven-well-meaning-americans/>
> Read more or reply <https://networks.h-net.org/node/2606/discussions/173328/news-items-interest-h-afroam>
> You can manage your notification settings at https://networks.h-net.org/user/5083/notifications <https://networks.h-net.org/user/5083/notifications>
> H-Net on: Facebook <https://www.facebook.com/humanities.socialsciences.online> - Twitter <https://twitter.com/HNet_Humanities>
> Please help us keep H-Net free and accessible. $5 from each of our subscribers would fund H-Net for two years. Click here <https://www.h-net.org/donations/> to make a tax-deductible donation online.
> 
> If you need assistance, please visit the Help Desk <https://networks.h-net.org/help-desk>. H-Net on Facebook <https://www.facebook.com/humanities.socialsciences.online>
> H-Net on Twitter <https://twitter.com/HNet_Humanities>
> H-Net Reviews on Twitter <https://twitter.com/hnet_reviews>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mail.geneseo.edu/pipermail/blackstudies-l/attachments/20170329/c3029042/attachment.html>


More information about the Blackstudies-l mailing list