[Blackstudies-l] Fwd: H-Afro-Am: News Items of Interest to H-AfroAm

Emilye Crosby crosby at geneseo.edu
Fri Feb 2 08:47:39 EST 2018


Begin forwarded message:
> Greetings Emilye Crosby,
> A new item has been posted in H-Afro-Am.
> 
> News Items of Interest to H-AfroAm <https://networks.h-net.org/user/login?destination=node/1312982>
> by Shawn Leigh Alexander
> The Project on the History of Black Writing Blog » <http://www.projecthbw.ku.edu/category/hbw/>
> Race, Injustice, and Philosophy: An Interview with Tommie Shelby » <https://www.aaihs.org/race-injustice-and-philosophy-an-interview-with-tommie-shelby/>
> The tragic loss of Erica Garner » <https://theundefeated.com/features/the-tragic-loss-of-erica-garner/>
> Erica Garner and the Trauma of Police Violence in Black Communities » <https://www.aaihs.org/erica-garner-and-the-trauma-of-police-violence-in-black-communities/>
> The Crisis of the Current Negro Intellectual » <https://intpolicydigest.org/2018/01/03/crisis-current-negro-intellectual/>
> Cornel West vs. Coates: A Necessary Debate that Black Agenda Report Has Amplified Since Its Inception » <https://blackagendareport.com/cornel-west-vs-coates-necessary-debate-black-agenda-report-has-amplified-its-inception>
> Reparations for Slavery and the Slave Trade: A New Book on the Idea of Reparations » <https://www.aaihs.org/reparations-for-slavery-and-the-slave-trade-a-new-book-on-the-idea-of-reparations/>
> Race, Citizenship and a Search for Intellectual Honesty » <https://journalofthecivilwarera.org/2018/01/race-citizenship-search-intellectual-honesty/>
> We Have To Trust Our Punch: A Conversation with Kevin Young » <http://therumpus.net/2018/01/the-rumpus-interview-with-kevin-young/>
> Rap Dreams in South Central: An Interview with Jooyoung Lee » <https://www.aaihs.org/rap-dreams-in-south-central-an-interview-with-jooyoung-lee/>
> For black immigrants here illegally, a battle against both fear and historic discrimination » <http://www.latimes.com/local/lanow/la-me-black-undocumented-20171010-story.html>
> The Strike That Brought MLK to Memphis » <https://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/revisiting-sanitation-workers-strike-180967512/>
> Student Activism and the Mississippi Freedom Struggle » <https://www.aaihs.org/student-activism-and-the-mississippi-freedom-struggle/>
> Black Studies, Activism, and Digital History: An Interview with Abdul Alkalimat » <https://www.aaihs.org/black-studies-activism-and-digital-history-an-interview-with-abdul-alkalimat/>
> From Perry Wallace to Robert Quinn, SEC sports are integrated but are they still plantations? » <https://theundefeated.com/features/perry-wallace-robert-quinn-sec-sports-are-integrated-but-are-they-still-plantations/>
> The Black and Hispanic Unemployment Rates Don't Deserve Applause » <https://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2018/01/trump-black-hispanic-unemployment/549932/>
> It's time to pay the tab for America's college athletes » <https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2018/jan/09/its-time-to-pay-the-tab-for-americas-college-athletes>
> Jaylen Brown: 'Sport is a mechanism of control in America' » <https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2018/jan/09/jaylen-brown-boston-celtics-nba-interview>
> Black Student Power in Boston » <https://www.aaihs.org/black-student-power-in-boston/>
> The Legacy of Berkeley High School’s Black Student Union » <https://www.aaihs.org/the-legacy-of-berkeley-high-schools-black-student-union/>
> Black Power and the Detroit High School Organizing Tradition » <https://www.aaihs.org/black-power-and-the-detroit-high-school-organizing-tradition/>
> MLK Now » <https://bostonreview.net/race/brandon-m-terry-mlk-now>
> Why Claudia Rankine Writes for the Resistance » <https://www.thenation.com/article/why-claudia-rankine-writes-for-the-resistance/>
> The Civil Rights Activist Whose Name You've Probably Never Heard » <https://www.npr.org/2018/01/12/577343980/the-civil-rights-activist-whose-name-youve-probably-never-heard>
> America's Schools Are 'Profoundly Unequal,' Says U.S. Civil Rights Commission » <https://www.npr.org/sections/ed/2018/01/11/577000301/americas-schools-are-profoundly-unequal-says-u-s-civil-rights-commission>
> The Heartbeat of Racism Is Denial » <https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/13/opinion/sunday/heartbeat-of-racism-denial.html>
> Teenage Feminism Decades before “Girl Power” » <https://www.aaihs.org/teenage-feminism-decades-before-girl-power/>
> Josephine Butler and Environmental Activism in Washington, DC » <https://www.aaihs.org/josephine-butler-and-environmental-activism-in-washington-dc/>
> Five Decades of White Backlash » <https://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2018/01/trump-massive-resistance-history-mlk/550544/>
> Tarik Black holds on to lessons from National Civil Rights Museum » <https://theundefeated.com/features/rockets-tarik-black-holds-on-to-lessons-from-memphis-national-civil-rights-museum/>
> It’s Been 50 Years Since MLK Jr. Declared War on Poverty. The Economy for Black Americans Still Stinks » <https://www.motherjones.com/politics/2018/01/its-been-50-years-dr-king-declared-war-on-poverty-but-the-economy-is-still-a-nightmare-for-black-americans/>
> Colleges Brace for Tumult in 2018 as White Supremacists Demand a Stage » <https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/17/us/from-charlottesville-to-gainesville-how-colleges-manage-speakers-like-richard-spencer.html?hp&action=click&pgtype=Homepage&clickSource=story-heading&module=second-column-region&region=top-news&WT.nav=top-news>
> Black Colleges in the Age of Trump » <https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/16/opinion/black-colleges-universities-hbcus-trump.html?action=click&pgtype=Homepage&version=Moth-Visible&moduleDetail=inside-nyt-region-1&module=inside-nyt-region&region=inside-nyt-region&WT.nav=inside-nyt-region>
> Black German Women and the Fifth Cross-Cultural Black Women’s Studies Summer Institute » <https://www.aaihs.org/black-german-women-and-the-fifth-cross-cultural-black-womens-studies-summer-institute/>
> Ta-Nehisi Coates on Cornel West’s One-Sided War » <https://www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2018/01/ta-nehisi-coates-cornel-west/550727/>
> Why Do Republicans Hate America? » <https://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/opinion-anderson-republicans-america_us_5a58d5efe4b04df054f860a1>
> New documentary shows us that Lorraine Hansberry of 'Raisin in the Sun' was one tough-minded woman » <https://theundefeated.com/features/new-documentary-lorraine-hansberry-of-a-raisin-in-the-sun-one-tough-minded-woman/>
> Black Aesthetics and the Philosophy of Race: An Interview with Paul C. Taylor » <https://www.aaihs.org/black-aesthetics-and-the-philosophy-of-race-an-interview-with-paul-c-taylor/>
> Eugenics and the Modern Conservative Movement » <https://www.aaihs.org/eugenics-and-the-modern-conservative-movement/>
> A House is Not a Hole: (Not) Caring about What Trump Says » <https://www.counterpunch.org/2018/01/19/a-house-is-not-a-hole-not-caring-about-what-trump-says/>
> How a massive database could help people find their enslaved ancestors » <https://www.pbs.org/newshour/science/how-a-massive-database-could-help-people-find-their-enslaved-ancestors>
> Donald Trump is a racist, a bigot and a boor. But un-American? Hardly » <https://www.salon.com/2018/01/20/donald-trump-is-a-racist-a-bigot-and-a-boor-but-un-american-hardly/>
> How an Artist Learned About Freedom From ‘The Negro Motorist Green Book’ » <https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/19/arts/design/how-an-artist-learned-about-freedom-from-the-negro-motorist-green-book.html?hpw&rref=arts&action=click&pgtype=Homepage&module=well-region&region=bottom-well&WT.nav=bottom-well>
> Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor on “How We Get Free: Black Feminism and the Combahee River Collective” » <https://www.democracynow.org/2018/1/19/keeanga_yamahtta_taylor_on_how_we>
> Beyond Race Relations » <https://jacobinmag.com/2018/01/racecraft-racism-barbara-karen-fields>
> Member Of Congressional Black Caucus: Trump Has Brought Normalized Racism To White House » <https://www.npr.org/2018/01/20/579443004/member-of-congressional-black-caucus-trump-has-brought-normalized-racism-to-whit>
> “When They Call You a Terrorist”: Black Lives Matter memoir is rooted in radical love » <https://www.salon.com/2018/01/20/when-they-call-you-a-terrorist-black-lives-matter-memoir-is-rooted-in-radical-love/>
> Julius Lester, Chronicler of Black America, Is Dead at 78 » <https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/19/obituaries/julius-lester-chronicler-of-black-america-is-dead-at-78.html>
> A More Beautiful and Terrible History: A New Book on the Civil Rights Movement » <https://www.aaihs.org/a-more-beautiful-and-terrible-history-a-new-book-on-the-civil-rights-movement/>
> The Story of Historically Black Colleges and Universities » <https://www.aaihs.org/the-story-of-historically-black-colleges-and-universities/>
> Racism is creeping back into mainstream science. We have to stop it. » <https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/jan/22/eugenics-racism-mainstream-science>
> Cornel West accused Ta-Nehisi Coates of being a neoliberal. Does neoliberal still mean anything? » <https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/monkey-cage/wp/2018/01/23/cornel-west-accused-ta-nehisi-coates-of-being-a-neoliberal-so-does-neoliberal-still-mean-anything/>
> Wyatt Tee Walker, Dr. King’s Strategist and a Harlem Leader, Dies at 88 » <https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/23/obituaries/wyatt-tee-walker-dead.html>
> Martin Luther King Jr. and the Tradition of Radical Blackness » <https://www.aaihs.org/martin-luther-king-jr-and-the-tradition-of-radical-blackness/>
> What does it mean to be black and play sports » <https://theundefeated.com/features/state-of-the-black-athlete-what-does-it-mean-to-be-black-and-play-sports/>
> A Root Cause of the Teacher-Diversity Problem » <https://www.theatlantic.com/education/archive/2018/01/a-root-cause-of-the-teacher-diversity-problem/551234/>
> I’ve had enough of white people who try to deny my experience » <https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/jan/24/white-people-tv-racism-afua-hirsch>
> Revisiting Black Nationalism and the National Question » <https://blackagendareport.com/revisiting-black-nationalism-and-national-question>
> Race and the Logic of Capital » <https://blackagendareport.com/race-and-logic-capital>
> Are Florida prisons suppressing an inmate strike or just lying about it? » <https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/made-by-history/wp/2018/01/24/are-florida-prisons-suppressing-an-inmate-strike-or-just-lying-about-it/?utm_term=.3904f28e9c56>
> Wreckage of Last Known Slave Ship in U.S. May Have Been Found » <https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/24/us/slave-ship-discovered-alabama.html>
> How the far right has perfected the art of deniable racism » <https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/jan/26/far-right-racism-electoral-successes-europe-us-bigotry?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other>
> 'Your racist side slipped out a little': How the anthem protests split one small town » <https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2018/jan/26/your-racist-side-slipped-out-a-little-how-the-anthem-protests-split-one-small-town?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other>
> The Historical Erasure of Violence Against Black Women » <https://www.aaihs.org/the-historical-erasure-of-violence-against-black-women/>
> Remembering the Black Radical Press » <https://www.aaihs.org/remembering-the-black-radical-press/>
> Reclaiming Blackness and Islamic Identity » <https://www.aaihs.org/reclaiming-blackness-and-islamic-identity/>
> Intersectionality is a Hole, Afro-Pessimism is a Shovel. We need to stop digging » <https://blackagendareport.com/intersectionality-hole-afro-pessimism-shovel-we-need-stop-digging>
> Traveling While Black » <https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/national/wp/2018/01/26/feature/traveling-while-black-why-some-americans-are-afraid-to-explore-their-own-country/>
> Surviving Slavery in the British Caribbean: A New Book on Atlantic Slavery » <https://www.aaihs.org/surviving-slavery-in-the-british-caribbean-a-new-book-on-atlantic-slavery/>
> 'We've ignited a new generation': Patrisse Khan-Cullors on the resurgence of black activism » <https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2018/jan/28/patrisse-khan-cullors-black-lives-matter-interview>
> Black Womanhood: The Syllabus » <http://dh.jmjafrx.com/2018/01/27/black-womanhood-the-syllabus/>
> Conservatives just don’t understand that racism runs deep in American education » <https://www.salon.com/2018/01/28/conservatives-just-do-not-understand-that-racism-runs-deep-in-american-education_partner/>
> Labeled A 'Terrorist,' A Black Lives Matter Founder Writes Her Record » <https://www.npr.org/2018/01/27/578980821/labeled-a-terrorist-a-black-lives-matter-founder-writes-her-record>
> Black Charleston and the Battle over Confederate Statues » <https://www.aaihs.org/black-charleston-and-the-battle-over-confederate-statues/>
> Using Immigrants to Shame America Blacks » <https://www.counterpunch.org/2018/01/30/using-immigrants-to-shame-america-blacks/>
> Race, Freedom, and Extermination in America and the Atlantic World » <https://www.aaihs.org/race-freedom-and-extermination-in-america-and-the-atlantic-world/>
> The hidden history of black nationalist political women's activism » <https://theconversation.com/the-hidden-history-of-black-nationalist-womens-political-activism-89695?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=twitterbutton>
> The Super Bowl won't shine light on Minneapolis' racial and economic problems » <https://theundefeated.com/features/super-bowl-lii-wont-shine-light-on-minneapolis-racial-and-economic-problems/>
> The Civil Rights movement, distorted: Weaponizing history against Black Lives Matter » <https://www.salon.com/2018/01/30/the-civil-rights-movement-distorted-weaponizing-history-against-black-lives-matter/>
> Read more or reply <https://networks.h-net.org/user/login?destination=node/1312982>
> Please help us keep H-Net free and accessible.	$10 from each of our subscribers would fund H-Net for two years.	Click here <https://networks.h-net.org/support-h-net>to make a tax-deductible donation online.
> 
> Contact the Help Desk: help at mail.h-net.msu.edu <mailto:help at mail.h-net.msu.edu>.
> Manage notification settings by visiting My Profile > Notifications on the Commons <https://networks.h-net.org/>.
> 
>  <https://twitter.com/HNet_Humanities>  <https://www.facebook.com/humanities.socialsciences.online>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mail.geneseo.edu/pipermail/blackstudies-l/attachments/20180202/4e74ad55/attachment-0001.html>


More information about the Blackstudies-l mailing list