[Blackstudies-l] Fwd: H-Afro-Am: News Items of Interest to H-AfroAm

Emilye Crosby crosby at geneseo.edu
Tue Mar 6 17:00:15 EST 2018


> 
> News Items of Interest to H-AfroAm <https://networks.h-net.org/user/login?destination=node/1488499>
> by Shawn Leigh Alexander
> How the “Black Panther” Film Is “A Defining Moment for Black America” » <https://www.democracynow.org/2018/2/28/black_panther_gender_afrofuturism_a_defining>
> The Many Dimensions of Black Panther » <https://www.dissentmagazine.org/online_articles/marvel-black-panther-review-race-empire-tragic-heroes>
> Half-century of US civil rights gains have stalled or reversed, report finds » <https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2018/feb/27/us-civil-rights-report-kerner-commission?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other>
> To Remake the World: Slavery, Racial Capitalism, and Justice » <http://bostonreview.net/forum/walter-johnson-to-remake-the-world>
> Art and Activism » <https://www.harvardmagazine.com/2018/03/alain-locke-the-new-negro>
> Black Hair’s Blockbuster Moment » <https://www.nytimes.com/2018/02/23/opinion/sunday/natural-hair-black-panther.html?action=click&pgtype=Homepage&clickSource=story-heading&module=opinion-c-col-right-region&region=opinion-c-col-right-region&WT.nav=opinion-c-col-right-region>
> How Segregation Persists » <https://jacobinmag.com/2018/02/cycle-of-segregation-review-krysan-crowder-racism>
> Is It Time for a Reassessment of Malcolm X? » <https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/it-time-reassessment-malcolm-x-180968247/>
> Frederick Douglass’s Fight Against Scientific Racism » <https://www.nytimes.com/2018/02/22/opinion/frederick-douglasss-scientific-racism.html>
> Bringing W. E. B. Du Bois Home Again » <https://www.aaihs.org/bringing-w-e-b-du-bois-home-again/>
> The FBI's War on Black-Owned Bookstores » <https://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2018/02/fbi-black-bookstores/553598/>
> ‘Black Panther’ Is Not the Movie We Deserve » <http://bostonreview.net/race/christopher-lebron-black-panther?utm_content=buffer0fb24&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer>
> Race, Religion and Radicalism: King and Du Bois » <https://www.aaihs.org/race-religion-and-radicalism-king-and-du-bois/>
> W.E.B. Du Bois and the Souls of Academic Folk » <https://www.aaihs.org/w-e-b-du-bois-and-the-souls-of-academic-folk/>
> W. E. B. Du Bois and the Representation of Black Higher Education » <https://www.aaihs.org/w-e-b-du-bois-and-the-representation-of-black-higher-education/>
> On W. E. B. Du Bois and Poetry » <https://www.aaihs.org/on-w-e-b-du-bois-and-poetry/>
> W. E. B. Du Bois, Aesthetics, and the Weird » <https://www.aaihs.org/w-e-b-du-bois-aesthetics-and-the-weird/>
> W. E. B. Du Bois, World War I, and the Question of Failure » <https://www.aaihs.org/w-e-b-du-bois-world-war-i-and-the-question-of-failure/>
> An Alternative View of Du Bois’s Talented Tenth » <https://www.aaihs.org/an-alternative-view-of-du-boiss-talented-tenth/>
> Black Panther and the Invention of Africa » <https://www.newyorker.com/news/daily-comment/black-panther-and-the-invention-of-africa>
> How 'Black Panther' Taps Into 500 Years of History » <https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/black-panther-taps-500-years-history-1085334>
> Athletes Today Have A Lot To Learn From The 1968 NYAC boycott » <https://www.theshadowleague.com/story/athletes-today-have-a-lot-to-learn-from-the-1968-nyac-boycott>
> A Troubled Past: The United States and Africa since World War II » <https://www.aaihs.org/a-troubled-past-the-united-states-and-africa-since-world-war-ii/>
> “History is Knowledge, Identity, and Power”: Lerone Bennett Jr., 1928–2018 » <https://www.aaihs.org/history-is-knowledge-identity-and-power-lerone-bennett-jr-1928-2018/?utm_content=buffer85249&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer>
> Why ‘Tell Them We Are Rising’ is a must-see » <https://theundefeated.com/features/why-tell-them-we-are-rising-is-a-must-see/>
> Black Panther is a Marvel Movie Superpowered by Its Ideas » <https://slate.com/culture/2018/02/black-panther-the-new-marvel-movie-reviewed.html>
> Black Panther is great. But let’s not treat it as an act of resistance » <https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/feb/15/black-panther-resistance>
> The Nubian Body, African Aesthetics, and Cultural Imagination » <https://www.aaihs.org/the-nubian-body-african-aesthetics-and-cultural-imagination/>
> The Soul of W. E. B. Du Bois » <https://www.theparisreview.org/blog/2018/02/14/the-soul-of-w-e-b-du-bois/>
> Mississippi’s Civil Rights Museum: Reflections from a Native Daughter » <https://www.aaihs.org/mississippis-civil-rights-museum-reflections-from-a-native-daughter/>
> White Supremacy and the Dangerous Discourse of Liberal Tolerance » <https://www.theparisreview.org/blog/2018/02/13/white-supremacy-dangerous-discourse-liberal-tolerance/>
> How the Right Co-Opts Frederick Douglass » <https://www.nytimes.com/2018/02/13/opinion/right-coopts-frederick-douglass.html>
> An Internationalist Vision of Black History Month » <https://www.aaihs.org/an-internationalist-vision-of-black-history-month/>
> Radical Black Peace Activism in the Black Liberation Movement » <https://www.aaihs.org/radical-black-peace-activism-in-the-black-liberation-movement/>
> Why Black Panther is a Defining Moment of Black America » <https://www.nytimes.com/2018/02/12/magazine/why-black-panther-is-a-defining-moment-for-black-america.html?hp&action=click&pgtype=Homepage&clickSource=story-heading&module=second-column-region&region=top-news&WT.nav=top-news>
> Remember the Orangeburg Massacre » <https://www.dissentmagazine.org/online_articles/remember-orangeburg-massacre-february-1968>
> How Albert Einstein Used His Fame to Denounce American Racism » <https://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/how-celebrity-scientist-albert-einstein-used-fame-denounce-american-racism-180962356/#aBxiEuWrGURkeQjh.99>
> Desegregating blood: A civil rights struggle to remember » <https://www.salon.com/2018/02/11/desegregating-blood-a-civil-rights-struggle-to-remember_partner/>
> From the Green Book to Facebook, how black people still need to outwit racists in rural America » <https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/feb/11/green-book-facebook-black-motorists-racist-america-road-trip-pitstops-safe>
> The History of Race and Democracy in the Nation’s Capital » <https://www.aaihs.org/the-history-of-race-and-democracy-in-the-nations-capital/>
> The Revolutionary Power of Black Panther » <http://time.com/black-panther/>
> Muhiyidin Moye, Black Lives Matter Activist, Is Shot and Killed in New Orleans » <https://www.nytimes.com/2018/02/07/us/muhiyidin-moye-dbaha-dead-black-lives-matter.html?smprod=nytcore-ipad&smid=nytcore-ipad-share>
> ‘Black Panther’ Brings Hope, Hype and Pride » <https://www.nytimes.com/2018/02/09/movies/black-panther-african-american-fans.html?smprod=nytcore-ipad&smid=nytcore-ipad-share>
> The Life and Death of a Black Lives Matter Activist » <https://www.newyorker.com/news/daily-comment/the-life-and-death-of-a-black-lives-matter-activist>
> The Complicated History of Race and Mardi Gras » <https://www.aaihs.org/the-complicated-history-of-race-and-mardi-gras/>
> The Hidden History of the Civil Rights Act of 1960 » <https://www.aaihs.org/the-hidden-history-of-the-civil-rights-act-of-1960/>
> No Strangers Here » <https://lareviewofbooks.org/article/no-strangers-here/#!>
> The Staying Power of Black History Month » <http://prospect.org/article/staying-power-black-history-month>
> Jumping the Broom and the American Cultural Divide » <https://www.aaihs.org/jumping-the-broom-and-the-american-cultural-divide/>
> Bryan Stevenson on What Well-Meaning White People Need to Know About Race » <https://psmag.com/magazine/bryan-stevenson-ps-interview>
> A More Beautiful & Terrible History: The Whitewashing & Distortion of Rosa Parks and MLK’s Legacies » <https://www.democracynow.org/2018/2/6/a_more_beautiful_terrible_history_the>
> The Enigmatic Anarchist » <https://www.jacobinmag.com/2018/01/lucy-parsons-jacqueline-jones-goddess-anarchy-interview>
> Martin Luther King Jr. was a radical socialist, not a truck salesman » <https://www.salon.com/2018/02/05/martin-luther-king-jr-was-a-radical-socialist-not-a-truck-salesman/>
> New Directions in Black Women’s History » <https://www.aaihs.org/new-directions-in-black-womens-history/>
> Even When Black Unemployment Is At Record Lows, It's Dangerously High » <https://www.npr.org/sections/codeswitch/2018/02/03/582936744/even-when-black-unemployment-is-at-record-lows-its-dangerously-high>
> ' <https://www.npr.org/sections/ed/2018/02/04/582468315/why-schools-fail-to-teach-slaverys-hard-history?utm_source=twitter.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=npr&utm_term=nprnews&utm_content=20180204>Why Schools Fail To Teach Slavery's 'Hard History' » <https://www.npr.org/sections/ed/2018/02/04/582468315/why-schools-fail-to-teach-slaverys-hard-history?utm_source=twitter.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=npr&utm_term=nprnews&utm_content=20180204>
> Everyday Excellence » <https://www.nytimes.com/2018/02/03/style/black-history-month-everyday-excellence-new-york.html>
> America’s Last Slave Ship, and Slavery’s Stain » <https://www.nytimes.com/2018/02/03/opinion/sunday/americas-last-slave-ship-and-slaverys-stain.html>
> Beyond the Slave Trade, the Cadaver Trade » <https://www.nytimes.com/2018/02/03/opinion/sunday/cadavers-slavery-medical-schools.html>
> A Political Philosophy of Self-Defense » <http://bostonreview.net/race/chad-kautzer-political-philosophy-self-defense>
> A Riot in the Social Order: On Race, Religion, and Power » <https://www.aaihs.org/a-riot-in-the-social-order-on-race-religion-and-power/>
> Reclaiming Martin Luther King Jr.’s Radical Vision » <https://www.aaihs.org/reclaiming-martin-luther-king-jr-s-radical-vision/>
> African American Novelist Frank Yerby’s Writings on Race » <https://www.aaihs.org/african-american-novelist-frank-yerbys-writings-on-race/>
> Marx, Du Bois, and the Black Underclass: RAM’s World Black Revolution » <https://www.viewpointmag.com/2018/02/01/marx-du-bois-black-underclass-rams-world-black-revolution/>
> 28 Days, 28 Films for Black History Month » <https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2018/02/01/movies/28-essential-films-black-history-month.html>
> When Black Women Reclaimed Their Bodies » <https://slate.com/human-interest/2018/02/how-formerly-enslaved-black-women-fought-for-human-dignity-and-sexual-justice.html>
> Why the NFL player protests still matter » <https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2018/feb/03/why-the-nfl-player-protests-still-matter?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other>
> 'I am not a symbol, I am an activist': the untold story of Coretta Scott King » <https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/feb/03/coretta-scott-king-extract?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other>
> The Power of Sport: Sport icons discuss how sports intersects life » <http://www.kansan.com/sports/the-power-of-sport-sport-icons-discuss-how-sports-intersects/article_d49b58e6-0840-11e8-a10a-2b73ab1f0dc5.html>
> King in New York: documenting Martin Luther King's connection with the city » <https://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2018/feb/01/martin-luther-king-new-york-exhibition?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other>
> Air pollution: black, Hispanic and poor students most at risk from toxins – study » <https://www.theguardian.com/education/2018/feb/01/schools-across-the-us-exposed-to-air-pollution-hildren-are-facing-risks?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other>
> The geography of black America – then and now » <https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/feb/01/data-visualisation-the-geography-of-black-america-then-and-now?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other>
> Read more or reply <https://networks.h-net.org/user/login?destination=node/1488499>
> Please help us keep H-Net free and accessible.	$10 from each of our subscribers would fund H-Net for two years.	Click here <https://networks.h-net.org/support-h-net> to make a tax-deductible donation online.
> 
> Contact the Help Desk: help at mail.h-net.msu.edu <mailto:help at mail.h-net.msu.edu>.
> Manage notification settings by visiting My Profile > Notifications on the Commons <https://networks.h-net.org/>.
> 
>  <https://twitter.com/HNet_Humanities>  <https://www.facebook.com/humanities.socialsciences.online>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mail.geneseo.edu/pipermail/blackstudies-l/attachments/20180306/e5eed2c3/attachment-0001.html>


More information about the Blackstudies-l mailing list